Quality Area 6 - Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

The Quality Area Collaborative partnerships with families and communities encourages the development of collaborative partnerships with families and communities.

These relationships are fundamental to achieving quality outcomes for children and require active communication, consultation and collaboration.

Quality Area 6: Standards and elements

Standard 6.1

Respectful and supportive relationships with families are developed and maintained.

Element 6.1.1

There is an effective enrolment and orientation process for families.

Element 6.1.2

Families have opportunities to be involved in the service and contribute to service decisions.

Element 6.1.3

Current information about the service is available to families.

Standard 6.2

Families are supported in their parenting role and their values and beliefs about childrearing are respected.

Element 6.2.1

The expertise of families is recognised and they share in decision making about their child’s learning and wellbeing.

Element 6.2.2

Current information is available to families about community services and resources to support parenting and family wellbeing.

Standard 6.3

The service collaborates with other organisations and service providers to enhance children’s learning and wellbeing.

Element 6.3.1

Links with relevant community and support agencies are established and maintained.

Element 6.3.2

Continuity of learning and transitions for each child are supported by sharing relevant information and clarifying responsibilities.

Element 6.3.3

Access to inclusion and support assistance is facilitated.

Element 6.3.4

The service builds relationships and engages with the local community.


Read about the other quality areas here.

Additional information about the quality area, standards and elements can be found in the Guide to the National Quality Standard.