Quality Area 1 - Educational program and practice

Thursday 11 April, 2013

The Quality Area Educational program and practice requires education and care services to have an educational program that meets children’s individual learning and development needs.

The knowledge, ideas, culture, abilities and interests of your child should be incorporated into the program, with continuous assessment of your child’s learning and development.

Quality Area 1: Standards and elements

Standard 1.1

An approved learning framework informs the development of a curriculum that enhances each child’s learning and development.


Element 1.1.1

Curriculum decision making contributes to each child’s learning and development outcomes in relation to their identity, connection with community, wellbeing, confidence as learners and effectiveness as communicators.

Element 1.1.2

Each child’s current knowledge, ideas, culture, abilities and interests are the foundation of the program.

Element 1.1.3

The program, including routines, is organised in ways that maximise opportunities for each child’s learning.

Element 1.1.4

The documentation about each child’s program and progress is available to families.

Element 1.1.5

Every child is supported to participate in the program.

Element 1.1.6

Each child’s agency is promoted, enabling them to make choices and decisions and to influence events and their world.

Standard 1.2


Educators and co-ordinators are focused, active and reflective in designing and delivering the program for each child.

Element 1.2.1

Each child's learning and development is assessed as part of an ongoing cycle of planning, documenting and evaluation.

Element 1.2.2

Educators respond to children's ideas and play and use intentional teaching to scaffold and extend each child's learning.

Element 1.2.3

Critical reflection on children's learning and development, both as individuals and in groups, is regularly used to implement the program.

A 2016 ACECQA research paper drew on information from the reports of authorised officers and the National Quality Agenda Information Technology System (NQA ITS) to examine how service providers are delivering against the requirements of Quality Area 1.

Read about the other quality areas here.

Additional information about the quality area, standards and elements can be found in the Guide to the National Quality Standard.