Quality Area 2 - Children’s health and safety

The aim of Quality Area 2 under the National Quality Standard is to safeguard and promote children’s health and safety, minimise risks and protect children from harm, injury and infection.

All children have the right to experience quality education and care in an environment that provides for their physical and psychological wellbeing and provides support for each child’s growing competence, confidence and independence.

Educational program and practiceChildren's health and safetyPhysical environmentStaffing arrangementsRelationships with childrenBuilding partnerships with familiesEducational leadership and team building

Children’s health and safety

Standard 2.1Each child’s health is promoted.
Element 2.1.1Each child’s health needs are supported.
Element 2.1.2Each child’s comfort is provided for and there are appropriate opportunities to meet each child’s need for sleep, rest and relaxation.
Element 2.1.3Effective hygiene practices are promoted and implemented.
Element 2.1.4Steps are taken to control the spread of infectious diseases and to manage injuries and illness, in accordance with recognised guidelines.
Standard 2.2Healthy eating and physical activity are embedded in the program for children.
Element 2.2.1Healthy eating is promoted and food and drinks provided by the service are nutritious and appropriate for each child.
Element 2.2.2Physical activity is promoted through planned and spontaneous experiences and is appropriate for each child.
Standard 2.3Each child is protected.
Element 2.3.1Children are adequately supervised at all times.
Element 2.3.2Every reasonable precaution is taken to protect children from harm and any hazard likely to cause injury.
Element 2.3.3Plans to effectively manage incidents and emergencies are developed in consultation with relevant authorities, practised and implemented.
Element 2.3.4Educators, co-ordinators and staff members are aware of their roles and responsibilities to respond to every child at risk of abuse or neglect.

A 2016 ACECQA research paper drew on information from the reports of authorised officers and the National Quality Agenda IT System to examine how service providers are delivering against the requirements of Quality Area 2.

Read about the other quality areas here.

Additional information about the quality area, standards and elements can be found in the Guide to the National Quality Standard.

Quality Area 2 resources:


Quality Area 2-Toileting and nappy changing principles and practice

Health and wellbeing

Staying Healthy in Child Care: Preventing infectious diseases in child care

Sunsmart Early Childhood Policy Guidelines

Sleep resources

Executive function – brains

Executive function - skills for life and learning

How brains are built: the core story of brain development

Asthma management

Guide to physical health and wellbeing

Connections: a resource for early childhood educators about children's wellbeing

Embedding healthy eating and physical activity

Get up and grow: healthy eating and physical activity for early childhood

Using the AEDC

Promoting healthy eating and nutrition in education and care services

Connecting with practice - routines around lunch

Establishing healthy lifestyle habits - ACECQA We hear you blog

Physical activity or sun protection?

National physical activity recommendations for children 0-5 years

Active play for early childhood centres and family day care

Yulunga: traditional indigenous games

Connecting with practice - hand and shirt washing


Health, safety and wellbeing

Victorian RA - supervision fact sheet

Child protection legislation

Supporting children's mental health

National framework for protecting Australia's children 2009-2020

National child protection week

Protecting children

Child protection in Australia

Protecting the safety and wellbeing of young people

Protecting children