Assessment and ratings

The Australian, state and territory education Ministers have agreed to changes to the National Quality Framework following a review of the National Partnership Agreement on the National Quality Agenda for Early Childhood Education and Care. Learn more about changes that will come into effect from 1 October 2017.

Assessment of services

All services approved under the Education and Care Services National Law are assessed and rated by their state or territory regulatory authority.

Services are assessed against the 7 quality areas of the National Quality Standard (NQS) and given an overall rating based on these results.

The ratings are:

  • Excellent rating, awarded by ACECQA
  • Exceeding National Quality Standard
  • Meeting National Quality Standard
  • Working Towards National Quality Standard
  • Significant Improvement Required

Services must display their ratings at the service at all times. In addition to the rating certificate, services can use their NQS rating logo. Find out how you can request your logo and promote your rating

The quality ratings are published on the national registers and the Starting Blocks and MyChild websites.

Ratings promote transparency and accountability and help parents assess the quality of education and care services available.

The assessment and rating process

Assessment and rating is designed to be a collaborative process between the service and regulatory authority, with opportunities for services to discuss how they are meeting the National Quality Standard and enhancing outcomes for children. Read more.

Excellent rating

Under the National Quality Framework, the Excellent rating can only be awarded by ACECQA.

Providers with a service rated Exceeding National Quality Standard can apply for the Excellent rating.