Assessment and ratings

Assessment of services

The National Quality Standard (NQS) promotes continuous quality improvement.
Children's education and care services covered under the Education and Care Services National Law are assessed and rated against the NQS. The process reflects a uniform approach to assessment and reporting across the range of service settings. The relevant regulatory authority in each state and territory undertakes the assessment and rating process. It is also the point of contact for any questions services may have about the assessment and rating process.

The National Quality Standard ratings

Ratings promote transparency and accountability and help parents assess the quality of education and care services available. Every service receives a rating for each quality area and an overall rating. These ratings must be displayed by each service and are published on the ACECQA and the MyChild websites.
There are five rating levels within the national quality rating and assessment process:
  • Excellent rating, awarded by ACECQA
  • Exceeding National Quality Standard
  • Meeting National Quality Standard
  • Working Towards National Quality Standard
  • Significant Improvement Required

Excellent rating

Under the National Quality Framework, the Excellent rating can only be awarded by ACECQA. Providers with a service rated Exceeding the National Quality Standard, and which meet the criteria for excellence, are eligible to apply. More information is available here
For templates and resources on how to promote your services ratings click here.