New ACECQA Board appointed

The new Board of the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) has been appointed. 

The appointment introduces six new and six returning members to the Board, providing ACECQA with the benefit of continuity in experience and expertise, as well as new perspectives and approaches.

Following a distinguished career in education, Ms Judy Hebblethwaite will guide the new Board as Acting Chair until the appointment of the Chair is finalised.

The new Board comprises:

  • Ms Judy Hebblethwaite – Deputy Chair
  • Mr Mark Brown*
  • Ms Sandra Cheeseman 
  • Professor Ann Farrell 
  • Ms Cathy Hudson* 
  • Dr Robyn Layton AO QC 
  • Associate Professor Joce Nuttall
  • Ms Sabine Phillips*
  • Mr Nick Ryan*
  • Ms Catherine Weber
  • Ms Jackie Wilson*
  • Ms Naomi Wilson*

*Returning Board member

Ms Hebblethwaite said she is looking forward to working with such a dedicated team, all of whom bring a wealth of relevant experience to the role, as well as a strong commitment to improving education and care outcomes for Australia’s children.

“It is an honour to have this opportunity to continue the work of the outgoing Board, which included several members of ACECQA’s inaugural Board”, Ms Hebblethwaite said.

“In particular, I pay tribute to the expert guidance and leadership of outgoing Chair, Ms Rachel Hunter.

“The contribution they collectively made provides this Board, and the others that will follow, with a strong foundation on which to continue to build.

“Welcome also to my fellow members – I look forward to working with you on the challenging but rewarding task of helping to give every child in Australia the best possible start in life.”

Read more about the Board’s role.